The Swansea Titans managed to shutout the Cardiff Cobras in 30-0 win that secured their place in the BUAFL playoffs for the first time in the club’s history. 

Both of these teams had failed to play a game since the Christmas break due to the appalling weather that has plagued the SWAC. So the mistakes, penalties and general rustiness that littered this fixture can be forgiven somewhat.

The game took a familiar shape as Swansea’s offense started positively, moving the ball along the ground and through the air. Jacob Amadi rumbled into the endzone for the first score of the game.

It was not all plain sailing for the Titans offense as their ball carriers fumbled the ball four times and Simon George was picked off for the first time this year. Although, the Titans previously leaky defense was looking in utter control as they forced the Cobras to punt over and over again.

Safety, David Ponting picked off the Cardiff quarterback and Amadi found his way into the endzone again taking the score line to 16-0 in the second quarter. Just before the half-time break MVP George Downs-Wheeler laid a hit on the Cobra’s signal caller, which saw the player riving in agony and ruled out of the rest of the game with knee ligament damage.

With time ticking out on the first half with the Titans held a two score lead. The second half started positively for Swansea as Marcus Wyatt had a big kick return into Cobra territory. However, penalty after penalty on the offense forced third and long situations for the Titans throughout the second half. 

Two big plays by the Titan defense sealed the game for Swansea. Downs-Wheeler snaffled a pick six, intercepting Cardiff’s back-up quarterback, taking the ball 30 yards to the house. Rhodri Jones-Pritchard, playing his first game of the year, then recovered a fumble in the endzone for the score.

The game ended 30-0, a satisfying victory over a bitter rival, which sent Swansea to the playoffs and Cardiff back to the drawing board as their hopes of a post-season are close to being over.

MVPs: George Downs-Wheeler, Adam Salter & Jacob Amadi